Ton de Jong is full professor of Instructional Technology at the University of Twente, Faculty of Behavioral, Management and Social Sciences and chair of the department of Instructional Technology and the department of Educational Sciences. He is director of the Master’s program Educational Science and Technology. From 2003-2008 he has been director of the Dutch national research school (approx. 100 person staff and 100 PhD students) on Educational Science. He was project manager of the EC-telematics SERVIVE project (SimQuest), of the EC (5 th framework) KITS project (KM Quest) and Co-Lab project and (7th framework) SCY project and Go-Lab project and of the SURF ZAP project (interactive visuals for psychology). Currently he is coordinator of the EU H2020 Next-Lab project. He has won the European Academic Software Award 2000 (EASA) for SimQuest and the same award in 2004 for ZAP. In addition, he has won several prizes for software development and the EARLI best article award (for an article in RER with W. van Joolingen). The ZAP software (a large set of simulations for learning psychology) has been commercialized by W.W. Norton who have sold over 200.000 commercial licenses. The Go-Lab portal (online labs for science learning) currently has over 13.000 visits per month ( Ton de Jong was coordinator of a multi-university project sponsored by the Dutch NSF on modelling inquiry behavior, of a Dutch-German (NWO-DFG) project on external representations in multimedia environments, of a Flemish-Dutch (FWO-NWO) project on games for mathematics learning, and currently for a Dutch NSF (NWO) project on learning 21 st century skills for engineering students. Ton de Jong is (co-)author of over 200 journal papers and book chapters and was the editor of three books, he is on the editorial board of seven ISI journals and has been associate editor for the Journal of Engineering Education and for Instructional Science. He has published three articles in Science. Ton de Jong has been appointed fellow of the American Educational Research Organization (AERA) and is a member of Academia Europaea.

Further see: